News Flash

Home - Latest News

Posted on: October 28, 2019

Mayor’s Arts and Culture Commission Celebrates One Year of Work

Lansing Mayor Andy Schor today announced that the Mayor’s Arts and CultureCommission (MAACC) has submitted its annual report per its Charter. The report outlines the MAACC’s achieved its goals for 2019 and how they plan to achieve their goals for 2020.   

“I couldn’t be happier with the work that the Mayor’s Arts and Culture Commission has done this year. They have accomplished many things to promote art and vibrancy in the City of Lansing for everyone to enjoy, including language for a new Executive Order updating the City’s public art policy,” said Mayor Schor.  

In its first year, the MAACC has focused on organizing the Commission, building relationships across the Lansing region, updating the City’s policy on public art, engaging with the community regarding the possibility of a performing arts center in downtown Lansing and making connections with local artists and creators to better support their work.   

“The Commission has worked hard to develop and promote arts and culture in Lansing and the surrounding areas. I’m proud to lead such an amazing, talented and dedicated group of artists an leaders,” said Erin Schor, Chair of the Commission.  

The Mayor’s Arts and Culture Commission was established by Executive Order in August of 2018, and was charged by the Mayor with advancing arts and cultural initiatives inside the city to drive social and economic development in order to enhance quality of life and experiences for residents and visitors alike.  

The Mayor’s Arts and Culture Commission is currently comprised of the following members: 

  • Erin Schor (Chair)
  • Barb Whitney (Vice Chair)
  • Alice Brinkman
  • Alison Alfredson
  • Berl Schwartz
  • Bill Matt
  • Clara Martinez
  • Courtney Millbrook
  • Dominic Cochran
  • Jack Davis
  • Julie Pingston
  • Kate Hude
  • Kelly Stuible-Clark
  • Laurie Baumer
  • Mike Marriott
  • Missy Lilje
  • Ozay Moore
  • Pat Lindemann
  • Scott Keith
  • Dr. Stephanie Vasko
  • Suban Nur Cooley
  • Thomas Muth
  • Yvette Collins

More information about the Commission and how to apply to become a member can be found at  

Press Release
Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home - Latest News


Seasonal Yard Waste Collection Update

Posted on: December 5, 2019

Parking Just Got Easier in Lansing

Posted on: October 17, 2019

Lansing Police Chief is Retiring

Posted on: July 9, 2019

City of Lansing Fireworks Ordinance

Posted on: June 28, 2019

Mayor Schor Issues First Veto

Posted on: May 21, 2019

Snow Emergency Remains in Effect

Posted on: January 30, 2019

Mayor Andy Schor Declares Snow Emergency

Posted on: January 28, 2019

Statement from Mayor Andy Schor

Posted on: January 9, 2019