Methods of Payment
Pay Tickets Online
You may now pay electronic tickets issued by the Lansing Police Department within 14 days of the violation date. Use the link below, select Michigan, then select Lansing Police Department from the drop-down options.
Effective Friday, November 18, 2011 all civil infraction violations that are at least 14 days or older can be paid online through the State of Michigan Online Ticket Payment System @ e.courts.michigan.gov. You cannot pay civil infractions with active warrants or a license hold due to parking violations. Contact the court for more information on those matters.
Q: Can I make a partial payment on my ticket(s)?
A: Partial payments are not accepted. Payments must be made in full.
Q: How long will it take for my payment to be processed?
A: Once you have authorized the system to accept payment for your ticket(s), the payment will usually post within just a few minutes. However, there may be obligations that may still be in effect until the next court business day.
Q: Can I pay for a ticket online when the court has issued a license suspension or license hold?
A: Civil infraction tickets (excluding parking tickets) that have a license suspension or license hold will display in the search results and can be paid.
Q: Does the amount due include the clearance fees due to the court?
A: The amount shown in the ticket screen does include the clearance fees due the court.
Q: Will the license suspension/hold be cleared?
A: In most circumstances, the license suspension or hold will be cleared within a few minutes. If there are multiple suspensions on the ticket, the suspensions will be cleared. *You should contact the court to confirm the suspension or hold has been cleared and obtain copies of your clearance(s).
Our policy is not to issue refunds for these types of payments. However, if you have a question concerning your payment and/or wish to inquire about a potential refund, please call the court.
The court accepts American Express, Visa, MasterCard, Discover and any debit card bearing one of those logos. Most fines and costs may be paid by credit card by calling the court during regular business hours at (517) 483-4434 or (517) 483-4435. You must be able to provide the following information when you call:
- Defendant's name
- Date of birth
- Ticket/Case Number
The court will not accept credit card payments over the phone to post bail bond payments for someone in custody.
Do not send cash through the U.S. mail. All cash payments must be submitted in person.
The court will accept personal and business checks but cannot accept 3rd party or starter checks. Additionally, the court will not accept checks as payment for bonds or restitution. If paying in person with a personal check, you will be asked to provide your drivers license number and date of birth because the 54A District Court uses Electronic Check which converts your personal check into an electronic transaction at the time of your payment.