Where Michigan Works!

City of Lansing

Welcome. Please contact me if I can help you in any way.

-Mayor Virg Bernero

Mayor Virg Bernero
Text Size:

City Council back

Welcome to Lansing City Council

The Lansing City Council is comprised of eight members, four At-Large and four Ward Councilmember's  Elections are held every odd year, consisting of two At-Large and two Ward members, each time.

The Lansing City Council is the legislative and policy-making body for the City government.  It sets policies, approves budgets, determines tax rates and adopts ordinances and resolutions to govern the City.  The City Council also confirms citizen volunteers to a number of boards and advisory posts.

The City Council meetings are held in accordance to a resolution adopted annually by the City Council. Council meetings are held in the Council Chambers on the 10th Floor of City Hall, 124 W. Michigan Avenue and cable casted "live" on CITY-TV, Comcast Channel 12.  All City Council meetings are open to the public, except for portions of meetings in which the subject of discussion warrants a closed meeting in accordance with exceptions provided in the Open Meetings Act.

FY2016 Budget Hearing 4/14/2015 Video

FY2016 Budget Hearing Schedule

FY2016 Budget Presentations

Notice for Neighborhood Budget Meetings

FY2016 Budget Documents

View the 2015 City Council Session Schedule

2015 Lansing City Council Standing Committee & Board/Commission Assignments & Schedules-Updated 4.2015 

Request for Proposal Information (RFP) Website

February 10, 2014 Capitol Improvement Bonds - Technology Infrastructure - Funding Source Spreadsheet 

2014 Committee on General Service Committee Report

If you would like to contact the City Council Office, call (517) 483-4177. You may also email the Council as a group at city.council@lansingmi.gov, or check out their individual pages for direct contact.

Sherrie Boak
Office Manager
Lansing City Council
124 W Michigan Ave.
10th Floor City Hall
Lansing , MI 48933
Ph: 517-483-4177
Fax: 517-483-7630

Monday through Friday
8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.