Record Requests

General Records Checks

The 54-A District Court may only release court records that are public in nature and have originated from this court. Local Administrative Order 2015-5 governs access to court records. The 54-A District Court is forbidden by law to disclose information from a criminal history, a driving record or the Law Enforcement Information Network (LEIN). A more complete record check may be requested by writing the appropriate state agency. Both the Michigan State Police and Department of State maintain computer information expressly for this purpose.

Criminal Records Check

To obtain a Criminal Record check contact:
Michigan State Police Central Records Bureau
7150 Harris Drive Lansing, MI 48913
Telephone: 517-322-5531
Online request
(website will show convictions only)

Driving (Traffic) Records Request

To obtain a Driving (Traffic) Record contact:
Michigan Department of State
Commercial Look-up Unit
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918
Telephone: 517-322-1624
Online request

Public Request

The Court makes available for inspection all public court files once the requestor provides a specific file number and submits the file/copy request form. Copies of court records are $1 per page. Freedom of Information requests do not apply to District Court records.

Public Access Terminals

Persons wishing to view court records may access case indexes from the public access terminals. The public access terminals contain records filed with the court from July 1990 to present date. Records prior to July 1990 are maintained in hand written index books and may be pulled from storage or microfilm for review once a court file number has been submitted to the court by the requestor. The public access terminals/books are open for use from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Please check in at the court's traffic or civil counter for directions to the public access room.

Government Requests

The 54-A District Court will provide record requests for government agencies. All requests should be submitted in writing on the requesting agencies' letterhead and may be faxed to the court at 517-483-4108. The request needs to include a return fax and phone number along with the name of the government agent requesting the records.

Certificate of Conviction

Certificates of conviction are $10. A district court file number must be provided at the time the certificate of conviction is requested. Persons requesting a certificate of conviction to be mailed should send a check or money order payable to "54-A District Court" at the time the request for the certificate of conviction is made.

Certified Copies

Certified copies of court documents are available for $10. There is an additional charge of $1 per page for multi-page documents.